Terms of Reference

Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Agency

1. ORGANIZATION NAME

The Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Agency; hereinafter referred to as the "Emergency Management Agency".

2. AUTHORITY

The Emergency Management Agency is established pursuant to the Emergency Management Act, RSA 2000, and Chapter E-6.8 Section 11.2(4).

3. PURPOSE/MANDATE

The purpose/mandate of the Emergency Management Agency is to maintain and update the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Program on an annual basis, as set out in each community Bylaw 2016-R001, as follows;

- a) be responsible for ensuring emergency planning documents and programs are accurate and reviewed annually;
- b) ensure appropriate training is available to staff and other personnel of the Summer Villages;
- c) ensure regional training records are kept;
- d) plan and execute exercises to validate the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Plan;
- e) conduct reviews of all exercises;
- f) review the impact of incidents on the system;
- g) publish information, as necessary, on the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Plan;
- h) liaise with external agencies and surrounding municipalities who have a role in emergency response at regional facilities; and
- i) ensure the Summer Villages have appropriate resources and equipment available.

4. EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY MEMBERSHIP

Emergency Management Agency membership shall consist of one voting member from each of the designated representatives for the Summer Villages. The voting member shall be comprised of one of the following:

- (a) a Director of Emergency Management from each partner Summer Village; or
- (b) a Deputy Director of Emergency Management; or
- (c) in the event neither a or b available the Chief Administration Officer

5. CHAIRPERSON

At the first meeting of the Emergency Management Agency, the members will elect from the membership, a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.

The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Emergency Management Agency will attend the annual meeting of the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Emergency Advisory Committee, in a non-voting capacity, to advise/update the Committee on the actions and/or recommendations of the Emergency Management Agency.

6. QUORUM & MEETINGS

Each of the (11) partner municipalities have a vote through their designated representative, however, all representative members or an alternate must be present for a quorum. All decisions are a majority vote.

The Emergency Management Agency will meet a minimum of two times per year, normally during the months of February or March and the beginning of September, but may meet more frequently at the call of the Chairperson or by a majority of Emergency Management Agency members.

Minutes will be taken at each meeting and reported to the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Advisory Committee at the annual meeting of the Advisory Committee.

7. BUDGETS & STAFF/ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT

Annually the Emergency Management Agency shall prepare a work plan and budget for the upcoming year which shall be submitted to the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Advisory Committee for approval no later than September 30 annually.

Prior to year end the Emergency Management Agency will submit a report to the Advisory Committee of the current year's activities.

8. COMMUNICATION WITH THE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

All communications will be through the Chairperson of the Emergency Management Agency.

9. TERMS OF REFERENCE AMENDMENTS

The Terms of Reference may be amended from time to time. Proposed changes shall be prepared by the Emergency Management Agency and submitted to the Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Advisory Committee for approval at a subsequent or ad hoc Regional Emergency Advisory Committee meeting.

10. APPROVAL/ADOPTION DATE

The Ste. Anne Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Agency Terms of Reference approved this 20th day of <u>August</u>, 2022.

The Summer Village of Sandy Beach,
The Province of Alberta, Canada



Mayor obo Council